azzurriffopubijix

and now, for something completely different.

Dead Smarties

RIP Crank Bros Smarties, 2008ish-2011

Well, that’s that.  The drivetrain on my commuter bike has been making some nasty sounds this week, ever since a very wet ride home last Wednesday.  I put it up on the stand last night to check it out, and though the drive-side crank was a tad loose, the bulk of the problem was that the pedals are toast.  Rest in peace, Crank Bros Smarty pedals.  The $20 I spent on you bought me roughly 3000km of commuting on several bikes and through several winters before you finally succumbed to your own cheapness.

I would buy them again in a heartbeat because they just work, and they were so so cheap.  Thankfully, I had a spare pair of eggbeaters that I could install.  They are definitely nicer, and the zero play in the pedal bodies versus the several millimeters of play on the outgoing Smarties is not anything to discount!

Comments are closed.

