azzurriffopubijix

and now, for something completely different.

Great Ride Home.

I wasn’t expecting to make a post about a good ride today.  By all accounts, I should have been absolutely beat today.  However, it turned out to be the opposite.  While my muscles were slightly fatigued, apparently I have improved like mad in the last couple of weeks.  I should maybe have expected it as I shaved a full minute off my ride in this morning over 7.6km.  A minute is a lot over that distance.  And here I’d planned on going out and taking it easy because my muscles were tired!  I didn’t think I hit it that hard, but there you go.

The ride home was the same:  over the 20km, I shaved about 5-6 minutes off the time on the ride I posted a couple weeks ago and I maintained a lower overall heart rate and a higher speed.  Yeah, I put some new wheels on my bike (and they are awesome), but I don’t think that should have had anything to do with it.  I feel like they roll a little better than the stock wheels, but they are pretty cheap and I bought them so I could swap tires on the bike during the winter by just changing the wheels.  It’s just easier and faster.  So, they’re cheap wheels by all accounts.

Anyways, here are the stats… I’m like 10bpm slower than I was before with better overall performance:

Ride home from work - August 25, 2011

 

Comments are closed.

